Skip directly to content

Whitfield County Young Georgia Authors Reception


New Website! Update Your Bookmarks!

This site will no longer be updated and won't be around forever,
so please click the link below.
After the new page loads, please update your web browser bookmarks!


Make your new home page today!


on Thu, 2012-06-07 09:47

Whitfield County Schools recently hosted a reception to honor its Young Georgia Authors Writing Contest winners at the central office.

The writing from one student per grade level is chosen to represent Whitfield County Schools and is submitted to the Georgia Department of Education. Students received certificates to honor their work and enjoyed the opportunity to read their winning entry.

Entries are being evaluated at the GaDOE to determine state and RESA level winners. The contest is sponsored each year by the Georgia Department of Education.

Honored students in the photo are front row, from left, are Eden Watson from Varnell Elementary, Kelsy Zamora from Antioch Elementary, Jade Bazan from Antioch Elementary, and Raven Miller from Cohutta Elementary. Second row, from left, are Tyson Langford from New Hope Elementary, Allie Mayfield from Cohutta Elementary, and Westside Elementary students Riley Tucker, Sara Kate Farmer, and Jace Parsons. Third row, from left, are Sarah Cordero from Northwest High School, Haley Stanley from Westside Middle School, Taylor Smith from Coahulla Creek High School, Jessica Gandara from Eastbrook Middle School, Ana Karen Valdez from North Whitfield Middle, Caroline Scoggins from Tunnel Hill Elementary, and Cheyenne Gibson from Northwest High School.